show episodes
 
Do you ever feel that preparing for your weekly Come, Follow Me lesson falls short? Join hosts Hank Smith and John Bytheway as they interview experts to make your study for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints’ Come, Follow Me course not only enjoyable but original and educational. If you are looking for resources to make your study fresh, faithful, and fun--no matter your age--then join us every Friday at 6:00 PM MST for Part I and Saturday at 6:00 PM MST for Part II. Show notes: ...
 
Welcome to You've Got Hanks, the podcast about Tom Hanks hosted by Rachel Chapman. Each week, Rachel invites over some friends and fellow comedians to talk about one of Tom's movies as she's making her way through his films in chronological order. Catch an episode if you can on Apple Podcasts or wherever you do that thing you do. And please remember, there's no crying in baseball. Hanks for listening!
 
Each year, religion professors at Brigham Young University (BYU) produce hundreds of publications on subjects related to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This podcast brings this research into one place to enlighten the everyday seeker of truth. Interviewing the author, we discuss why the study was done, why it matters, and why the professor chooses to be both a scholar, and a disciple. This is Y Religion.
 
Sasquatch Tracks takes a scientific look at whether there are large animal species that remain undiscovered. With special emphasis on the Sasquatch in North America, the show looks at claims of apelike “relict hominoids” and other animals purported to exist in various parts of the world.
 
They say music gives way to the soul, so get to know the world's most successful stars better than ever before with Straight Up: the music podcast that sits down with some of the biggest names in culture to talk about the songs that shaped them. From the song that soundtracked their childhood and their first romance to the song that makes them feel invincible and the one that makes them cry, Straight Up digs deep to reveal the real person behind the work. Expect intimate, informal conversati ...
 
Loading …
show series
 
Four-minute clip of Hank and John's favorite part of this week's Come, Follow Me Study. John shares Doctrine & Covenants 84: 82. The Lord promises that he will take care of us and we can let go of our worry and anxiety. Hank shares Doctrine & Covenants 84:110. We need everyone in the church. You are a valuable part of the work. Harmony means being …
 
Today Brad Parks,one of my favorite authors, returns to the show to talk about his brand new book Unthinkable. From international bestselling author Brad Parks comes a new thriller about an ordinary man who may be able to save the world as we know it—but to do so, he must make an impossible choice. Nate Lovejoy is a self-proclaimed nobody, a stay-a…
 
Dale Earnhardt Jr brings two-time Indycar Champion Josef Newgarden to the studio for a conversation that turned out to be one of our favorites of the season. Why? Because the American open-wheeled racer is a dynamic personality in the sport on and off the track. Dale Jr. gets Josef to tell us about his forbidden desire to become a racer and how his…
 
Today’s author interview guest is Samantha Downing, author of For Your Own Good. SOON TO BE A TELEVISION SERIES ON HBO MAX “A slick and chilling thriller, leading readers on a dark, sinuous journey through the halls of Belmont Academy—the type of place where you’re never sure who to trust, or who to fear.”—Megan Miranda “It’s going to be a very bum…
 
Are both men and women instructed to study Doctrine and Covenants, Section 84? Dr. Gardner teaches how the Oath and Covenant of the Priesthood involves responsibilities and blessings that don’t vary for men and women and we are reminded, as the early Saints were, that we are willing to take upon ourselves the name of Christ at baptism and we take u…
 
Larry is joined by the LA Times Sports and Culture columnist LZ Granderson to talk about becoming comfortable with his identity as a Black gay man (8:26), NFL player Carl Nassib coming out as gay and the other progress the sports world is making to be more inclusive (47:24), and how he feels about athlete activism (1:07:29). Host: Larry Wilmore Gue…
 
Do you wonder how both women and men hold priesthood authority and priesthood power? Dr. Barbara Morgan Gardner returns to teach about how women and men have priesthood authority, responsibility, and duties. We learn how the early Saints were being prepared for temple covenants and learn the difference between how the priesthood operates within and…
 
On this installment of Sasquatch Tracks, after leading off with news and discussion of all things Sasquatch, we are then joined by Leon Thompson of Bigfoot Okanagan, a group that applies scientific principles toward the study of Sasquatch. Leon's background is in the study of systems theory, and over the course of the last several years, Leon has a…
 
Her Last BreathToday’s author interview guest is Hilary Davidson, author of Her Last Breath. From the bestselling author of One Small Sacrifice comes a suspenseful thriller about a dead woman who predicted her own murder—and the sister who won’t let the truth be buried. When her beloved sister Caroline dies suddenly, Deirdre is heartbroken. However…
 
A lady about the internet, Ashley Stauber (@ashleystauber), joins me this week to talk about Colin's brief cameo in The O.C. Yes, it's a very small role, but it's a fun one. And who doesn't like talking about The O.C.? We also discuss the meta-ness and how much we wish we could see more. Also, Ashley finds out which The O.C. character she would pla…
 
Recorded in-person at BHA 10th Annual North American Rendezvous in Montana, join us today for an in-depth conversation between two certified gun nerds, Hal Herring and Nephi Cole. Nephi is director of government relations-state affairs of the National Shooting Sports Foundation, the firearms industry’s primary trade association. Nephi has a serious…
 
From the creators of The Dale Jr. Download, Door Bumper Clear, and Lost Speedways, comes the brand new racing history podcast, "Glorious, White-Knuckled, God-Fearing, Spun-Out-And-Half Turned-Over Racing Stories." Veteran racing journalist Rick Houston brings his archival interviews and stories back to life with a fresh new design. Here's a preview…
 
Karin Slaughter returns to the show today to talk about her latest thriller False Witness. “It’s Slaughter’s prodigious gifts of characterization that make her stand out among thriller writers.” – WASHINGTON POST Recommended by GMA.com • Popsugar • Bustle • Atlanta Journal-Constitution • Mystery and Suspense Magazine • and more! He saw what you did…
 
NASCAR was only two years old the first time the Wood Brothers took to the track in 1950. 71 years later, Dale Earnhardt Jr. gets the chance to sit down with a true pioneer of the sport, the great Leonard Wood of the famed Wood Brothers Racing Team. Wood talks about his beginnings in the sport in 1950 and how they grew from some street racing, lumb…
 
Today’s author interview guest is Karin Tanabe, author of A Woman of Intelligence. “Captivating.” ––The Washington Post Named a Best Book of Summer by Good Morning America • BuzzFeed • PopSugar • BookRiot • LifeSavvy • CT Post From “a master of historical fiction” (NPR), Karin Tanabe’s A Woman of Intelligence is an exhilarating tale of post-war New…
 
Seven-minute clip of Hank and John's favorite part of this week's Come, Follow Me Study. John shares Doctrine & Covenants 82:5 "Therefore, what I say unto one I say unto all: Watch, for the adversary spreadeth his dominions, and darkness reigneth;" We can discern truth from error through the Holy Ghost. It's so important to know who our real friend…
 
Today I am excited to welcome fellow Mississippian Michael Farris Smith to the show to talk about his new Gatsby prequel Nick, and much more. Critically acclaimed novelist Michael Farris Smith pulls Nick Carraway out of the shadows and into the spotlight in this fascinating look into his life before Gatsby Before Nick Carraway moved to West Egg and…
 
Have you ever felt offended on behalf of someone else? Joseph Smith and Edward Partridge have a serious disagreement yet reconcile. Ezra Booth remains bitter, long after Joseph and Edward forgive one another. Dr. Godfrey continues to expound upon the history of these sections, the applications of forgiveness, reconciliation, service, and how quick …
 
Larry weighs in on Richard Branson’s space trip and the return of mask mandates (01:00). Later, Larry is joined by writer Michael Pollan to discuss his latest book ‘This Is Your on Mind on Plants,’ the effects of Opiates on the body, and much more (10:00) Host: Larry Wilmore Guest: Michael Pollan Producer: Kaya McMullen Production Assistant: Jonath…
 
Do you ever struggle to identify with those in the scriptures? In Section 81, we see Frederick G. William’s name but originally the revelation listed Jesse Gause’s name (but he didn’t serve faithfully and was replaced with Williams). Dr. Matthew Godfrey explains how the revelations can be used and applied to Saints today, regardless of the names in…
 
The co-hosts of Baywatch Watch, Charlie Mihelich (@mihelicopter) & Zach Olsen (@realzacholsen), join me this week to talk about a severely underrated Colin Hanks movie, 11:14. This black comedy of interconnected events has a star-studded cast that includes Clark Gregg, Patrick Swayze, Ben Foster, and Hilary Swank. It truly is a delight and must-wat…
 
Today’s author interview guest is Connor Sullivan, author of Sleeping Bear. “Sleeping Bear is one of the very best thrillers you’ll read this year. It’s one of those rare novels that keeps getting better and better and better. Remember the author’s name—Connor Sullivan.” —James Patterson Perfect for fans of Brad Thor and Vince Flynn, this white-knu…
 
My God, why hast thou forsaken me? Over the years, that spiritual cry has been felt internally and uttered verbally by many believers in their most pressing trials, including by Jesus upon the cross. But does it mean what we think? BYU religion professor Shon Hopkin has published on the background and significance of that phrase. In this episode he…
 
Four years ago, unsigned South London RnB singer Ray Blk won the BBC Sound Of poll and became one of the most hotly tipped rising stars of her generation. But, pressured to make pop music at the expense of her true self and in the throes of an identity crisis caused by the music industry's obsession with labels, her debut album stalled. Finally how…
 
Two Hall of Famers sit-down, one who held a steering wheel, the other, held a bat. Dale Earnhardt Jr welcomes baseball legend, Chipper Jones, to the Download. . The two athletes waste no time getting to know each other. and share their interest in the other's sport. Before flashing the leather, Chipper was a huge race fan, growing up attending big …
 
Five-minute clip of Hank and John's favorite part of this week's Come, Follow Me Study. John shares his experience with a return missionary who said, "My mission was not what I expected, but turned out more beautiful than I planned." Doctrine & Covenants 80:3 teaches "Wherefore, go ye and preach my gospel, whether to the north or to the south, to t…
 
Dr. Manscill continues to discuss the United Firm, the Law of Consecration, and tithing. The early Saints were called to meet both temporal and spiritual needs as we are today. We discuss how the Church provides covenants as well as material assistance to advance the cause of Zion. Meet some early Saints (as well as modern Saints) who served where …
 
Loading …

Quick Reference Guide

Copyright 2021 | Sitemap | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service
Google login Twitter login Classic login