Episode 72: Massive Attack Collected


Manage episode 285572598 series 1075081
By Magnus. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
itunes pic
Massive Attack are an English Trip Hop band formed in 1988 in Bristol, England, by Robert "3D" Del Naja, Adrian "Tricky" Thaws, Andrew "Mushroom" Vowles and Grant "Daddy G" Marshall. The band currently consists of Del Naja, Thaws and Marshall, with Shara Nelson and Horace Andy as guest vocalists. Their debut album Blue Lines was released in 1991, with the groundbreaking single "Unfinished Sympathy" followed by a string of hits… Some of their most noted songs have been without choruses and have featured dramatically atmospheric dynamics, conveyed through either distorted guitar crescendos, lavish orchestral arrangements or prominent, looped/shifting basslines, underpinned by high and exacting production values, involving sometimes copious digital editing and mixing. So to commemorate 30years of their contribution to electronic music, here’s 16 Massive tracks over 2-hours, including the bonus remixed "I Want You" collab with Madonna. As always, made with love, so enjoy! Magnus. 1. Unfinished Intro 2. Any Love (Larry Heard Mix) 3. Be Thankful For What You’ve Got (Perfecto Mix) 4. Safe From Harm (Perfecto Mix) 5. Live With Me 6. Better Things (Extended Mix) 7. Protection (Extended Mix) 8. Weather Storm (Extended Mix) 9. Sly (7” Stones Mix) 10. Angel (Extended Mix) 11. United Snakes 12. Special Cases (Luomo’s Casing) 13. Unfinished Sympathy (Gui Boratto’s Unreleased Remix) 14. Paradise Circus (Gui Boratto Remix) 15. Teardrop (Russell G and Steve Haines Remix) 16. Risingson (Underworld Remix) Bonus: I Want You feat. Madonna (Junior’s Club Mix)

138 episodes