Exploring Diversity in Art with Jennifer Wang

1:42:00
 
Share
 

Manage episode 272660719 series 2511863
By Stan Prokopenko, Marshall Vandruff and Studio71, Stan Prokopenko, and Marshall Vandruff. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Guest artist Jennifer Wang joins the podcast to discuss gender, race and sexuality in art. Marshall and Stan ask her for her opinion on a previous caller’s question about the sexualization of women in art. The broad topic opens up other cultural conversations as Jennifer talks about the challenges of getting representation in media, cultural appropriation and more.

Go to thegreatcoursesplus.com/DRAFTSMEN to get access to any and all courses for the next month completely FREE!

As a listener, you’ll get 10% off your first month by visiting betterhelp.com/draftsmen

Call and Ask Your Art Questions: 1-858-609-9453

Show Links (some contain affiliate links):

Jennifer Wang’s Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/jenniferwang.arts/

Frank Frazetta - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/frank-frazetta-artwork-women-S2E23.jpg

Twilight - https://amzn.to/3myAbGS

50 Shades of Grey - https://amzn.to/2HfjkJ1

A Portrait of a Lady on Fire - https://amzn.to/35QnrFI

Midnight Sun - https://amzn.to/3iKOTZ5

Jean-Léon Gérôme - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/jean-léon-gérôme-painting-S2E23.jpg

Eugène Delacroix - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/eugene-delecroix-various-paintings-of-women-S2E23.jpg

Moana - https://amzn.to/33DOMbi

Kerry James Marshall - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/kerry-james-marshall-artwork-S2E23.jpg

Kehinde Wiley - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/kehinde-wiley-artwork-S2E23.jpg

Isle of Dogs - https://amzn.to/3iJg7PR

Ghost in the Shell - https://amzn.to/2RIvewI

Breakfast at Tiffany’s - https://amzn.to/3mAGxWg

Goofus and Gallant - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/goofus-and-gallant-S2E23.jpg

The Princess and the Frog - https://amzn.to/35OJlco

Mulan - https://amzn.to/3cjLgqE

Cultural Appropriation vs Appreciation by Lauren Panepinto: http://www.muddycolors.com/2019/02/cultural-appropriation-vs-appreciation/

Kim Jung Gi - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/kim-jung-gi-various-pages-of-artwork-S2E23.jpg

Sakimichan - https://proko.com/draftsmen-media/sakimichan-digital-artwork-S2E23.jpg

Anthony Francisco -

Elements: Earth edited by Taneka Stotts - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50392916-elements

Mooncakes by Wendy Xu and Suzanne Walker - https://amzn.to/35KZ1gN

Ironheart by Eve Ewing - https://amzn.to/3kuNbLF

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki - https://amzn.to/3iKA48H

What We Don't Talk About by Charlot Kristensen - https://amzn.to/3mxOUBV

Displacement by Kiku Hughes - https://amzn.to/3iKsATi

Learn to Draw - www.proko.com

Marshall Vandruff - www.marshallart.com

Stan Prokopenko - instagram.com/stanprokopenko

Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices

59 episodes