Episode 7: Interview with Cole Wehrle (Pax Pamir, John Company)

1:03:07
 
Share
 

Manage episode 295062690 series 2939779
By HandGLab. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

In this episode, game designer Cole Wehrle joins host Eduard Gafton to talk Pax Pamir, John Company and Wehrlegig Games’ mission to ‘strive to publish beautiful games with historical themes that treat their subjects and their players seriously.’

𝐓𝐢𝐦𝐞 𝐒𝐭𝐚𝐦𝐩𝐬

○ 00:00:00 - Start

○ 00:02:24 - How did Pax Pamir start?

○ 00:17:14 - What is there to learn from playing Pax Pamir?

○ 00:32:18 - How do you market a historical game such as John Company?

○ 00:51:38 - How has academic experience helped the creation of the two games?

𝐌𝐞𝐧𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐝 𝐢𝐧 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬 𝐄𝐩𝐢𝐬𝐨𝐝𝐞

○ Pax Pamir Reprint Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1243243962/pax-pamir-reprint

○ Pax Pamir Second Edition Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1243243962/pax-pamir-second-edition

○ John Company Kickstarter: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1243243962/john-company-second-edition?ref=2jf6sd

○ John Company Second Edition Teach and Play: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2g-vBp3UO8

○ Buy Marrying Mr Darcy: http://www.marryingmrdarcy.com/blog/buying-marrying-mr-darcy-outside-the-united-states

○ Cole Wehrle’s Twitter: https://twitter.com/colewehrle

○ Cole’s essay “Going into Empire”: https://wehrlegig.com/blogs/essays/going-into-empire

○ Wehrlegig Games Website: https://wehrlegig.com/

○ Wehrlegig Games Twitter: https://twitter.com/wehrlegig

○ Wehrlegig Games Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/wehrlegiggames

○ State and Tribe in 19th Century Afghanistan: https://www.cambridge.org/core/journals/journal-of-the-royal-asiatic-society/article/state-and-tribe-in-nineteenthcentury-afghanistan-the-reign-of-amir-dost-muhammad-khan-18261863-by-christine-noelle-pp-xxiv-439-london-curzon-press-1997/A20452F3B71CD6DC9838747F6CC49038

○ The Mission: Early Christianity from the Crucifixion to the Crusades: https://www.whitedoggames.com/the-mission-1

○ Little Women (2019): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Little_Women_(2019_film)

○ Pax Viking: https://ionsmg.com/products/pax-viking

○ Atlantic Chase: https://www.gmtgames.com/p-706-atlantic-chase.aspx

𝐅𝐮𝐫𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐑𝐞𝐚𝐝𝐢𝐧𝐠

○ https://www.nytimes.com/2019/08/01/st...

𝐅𝐢𝐧𝐝 𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐏𝐨𝐝𝐜𝐚𝐬𝐭𝐬 𝐄𝐥𝐬𝐞𝐰𝐡𝐞𝐫𝐞 𝐓𝐨𝐨

○ YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgfxqAbSuvQ

𝐒𝐞𝐦𝐢𝐧𝐚𝐫 𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐄𝐯𝐞𝐧𝐭𝐬

A recording of the talk 'Gaming The Divine Comedy: A History' given by game designer Andrea Angiolino on 25 May is available on our YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oFfaC...

𝐂𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐚𝐜𝐭 𝐔𝐬

If you have any feedback or would like to get in touch for a potential podcast appearance, our DMs are open on Twitter @HandGLab or you can email us at historyandgamesstudentgroup@mlist.is.ed.ac.uk and/or at eduardgafton@gmail.com

○ Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/handglab/

○ Facebook: History and Games Lab: https://www.facebook.com/historygames...

○Linktree: https://linktr.ee/HistoryandGamesLab

𝐂𝐨𝐩𝐲𝐫𝐢𝐠𝐡𝐭 𝐃𝐢𝐬𝐜𝐥𝐚𝐢𝐦𝐞𝐫

Intro/Outro Music:

Call to Adventure by Kevin MacLeod

Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song...

License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-licensee

9 episodes