Ep. 166 - Rachael & Bridget of Lake Street Dive ("Hypotheticals")


Manage episode 292186080 series 1228576
By Paul Duncan and Scott B. Bomar and American Songwriter. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Bridget Kearney and Rachael Price of the band Lake Street Dive join us to talk about a career that’s earned them top 20 albums on the Billboard 200 chart, a half dozen singles on the AAA chart, massive critical praise, and a brand new album on Nonesuch Records called "Obviously" that elevates the band’s pop, rock, R&B, and jazz influences into a perfectly unique blend that's equal parts retro and contemporary.
Paul & Scott read listener mail, talk Patreon perks, and tell you how to get your very own Songcraft T-shirt!
Our in-depth conversation with Rachael and Bridget of Lake Street Dive
Lake Street Dive’s tight harmonies and wide-ranging tastes in pop, rock, R&B, and jazz blend together to create a cohesive sound that celebrates retro influences with a contemporary attitude. Formed at the New England Conservatory of Music in 2004, the group has released seven studio albums, issued two EPs, and charted a half dozen singles on Billboard’s Adult Alternative Airplay chart including “Call Off Your Dogs,” “Good Kisser,” “Shame Shame Shame,” and “Hypotheticals.” The latter is off their most recent album on Nonesuch Records, titled Obviously. The group has appeared on Late Night with David Letterman, Conan, The Ellen DeGeneres Show, and NPR’s Tiny Desk series. They’ve earned many millions of YouTube views with their innovative interpretations of covers songs, as well as with originals such as “What I’m Doing Here,” “You Go Down Smooth,” “Mistakes,” “Side Pony,” and “Bad Self Portraits.” Lead singer Rachael Price and bassist Bridget Kearney join us to talk about their songwriting process and the evolution of the band.

194 episodes